Single Mama, Cooking

SMC Easy Peasy Chicken Cabbage SkilletFor single mamas everywhere, I suspect cooking can be a bit daunting. Even if you’re like me and loved to cook before you had children, you might find yourself lost as to how you can get your little one to eat real food.

My little goose is 11 months old today. As with most things, food has been a challenge. She had colic and I cut out all dairy, gluten, soy from my diet. When it came time to feed her solids, she seemed to like the idea of eating more than the actual food.

I had committed to feed her as healthy and organic as I could, but as her teething progressed, much of her eating regressed. Between her 8 and 10 month checkups, she only gained half a pound. I researched how to get some weight on her and opted to nurse more and try to get more fat in her diet. She put on weight and things seemed well, but then she began having terrible acid reflux episodes again. So I took out yogurt and cheese from her diet. We’re still constantly tweaking, but I’m pleased to say that most days she is a petty “solid” eater, and the reflux issues seem to be improving.

Even so, the thought of cooking three nourishing meals each day on top of all the other work of a mom can be overwhelming. Especially when I don’t know that she will even eat it. But I keep offering whole, REAL foods in hopes that I will help give her healthy habits for life.

I’m a big fan of one dish, simple meals as they not only reduce cleanup, but they seem to encourage cravings for more unprocessed foods. Here’s one quick skillet I came up with for lunch today. And yes, the little one approved.

EASY PEASY CHICKEN CABBAGE SKILLET

1 Tablespoon unflavored coconut oil

8 ounces ground chicken thigh, antibiotic-free

Salt, to season (like the pink Himalayan variety)

1 Tablespoon poultry seasoning (a mix of thyme, sage, marjoram, rosemary, black pepper and nutmeg.)

1 small head savoy cabbage, chopped small but not diced (this is the extra wrinkly stuff, much lighter and sweeter than regular green cabbage. )

1 Tablespoon butter, organic and grassfed

1/4 to 1/2 cup heavy cream, organic and grassfed

Salt and pepper to taste

Warm the coconut oil over medium-high heat. Crumble and brown the ground chicken, adding salt and poultry seasoning. Once the pink has mostly disappeared, add the chopped cabbage, stir to combine and place a lid on the skillet. Reduce heat to medium and allow the cabbage to wilt and shrink, stirring occasionally. Once the cabbage is wilted but still crisp, about 6 minutes, add the butter and stir. Cook another 5 minutes and so the cabbage can soften. Add the cream and stir. Cook another minute or two so it is soft enough for your toddler to chew. Season again with salt and pepper.

This is great served over rice or with bread to mop up the liquid. I think of this skillet as a little like old world peasant food, and that’s one of the things I love about it. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

